Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Automatic bed leveling issue—Bad rods?

Posted by Lordkyleofearth 
Automatic bed leveling issue—Bad rods?
August 23, 2017 03:08PM
Hello everyone,

I am not 100% sure that this is the right sun forum, since it's possibly mechanical or possibly some sort of settings issue on my end. Apologise, if this is the wrong place.

I am having very uneven and difficult results with auto bed leveling on my printer. I'm new to Marlin, in general, so I'm not sure exactly what I need to do to correct for it.

I've included some screen shots showing what my G29 and M48 returns typically look like, as well as a shot of how extrusion looks, after setting the mesh. I do not issue a G28 after the G29.

If I roll my rods, the results do change, and I know that no rods are ever perfect anyway. However, given that there is a pretty sharp variance between some readings, I'm assuming something is up. If I manually level the corners using paper, the center regions of the bed are far too close, which suggests that it's not just something wonky with Marlin.

Am I missing anything here, or should I just wait for new rods?

(Marlin 1.1.3 RC7)

I'm using Marlin 1.1.3 RC7 on a FlSun Cube printer, with an inductive probe on the Z axis. Mesh leveling is bilinear with 5*5 points.

(Please ignore the round scars from past prints, just the square is of interest here.)

Pictures can be seen here:
[goo.gl]
Re: Automatic bed leveling issue—Bad rods?
August 25, 2017 06:28PM
I'd hazard a guess its the rods deflecting, if you have the central "hill" in the bed, this is caused by the rods bending in the centre.