Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Detailed questions regarding gcode (federate, acceleration, jerk)

Posted by schpongo 
Detailed questions regarding gcode (federate, acceleration, jerk)
September 18, 2017 12:31PM
I'm new to the world of 3d printing and gcode ,curruntly I am working on a controller for a 3d printer.
I have some questions about the structure of gcode.

I've created to following gcode using cura with the acceleration and jerk setting enabled.
Please correct anything that I've misunderstood.

M204S3000
M205X20
G1F1800X20.222Y18.834E0.01486
G1X20.87Y18.383E0.02971
G1X21.561Y17.999E0.04458
G1X22.286Y17.687E0.05943

If I've understood the wiki correctly , In line 1 I will set the default (not maximum) acceleration for all axis and all movements (print, travel and retract) to 3000 mm/s^2.
In the wiki the S refers to 'normal moves' and a T to filament only moves. What are filament only moves?
This setting will be used for all relevant commands that come past line 1 and will continue to be used until another M204 command is issued?

In line 2 the maximum(not normal) XY jerk is set to 20 mm/s^3 and this setting is used until a new max jerk is set?
But what determines which jerk value is used for a move, if only the maximum value is set?
Is the max value used for all moves?
Is the jerk actually the third derivative of the position value or is it a sort of minimum acceleration?

In line 3 the federate is set to 1800 mm/ for all following commands or just for the G1 command in line 3?
To which commands does this apply? G0 G1 G2, G10 any other?
Does that mean the axis speed is set to 1800 mm/s or the spacial movement speed is set to 1800 mm/min?
What feedrate is used if none is specified.

I know that those are a lot of questions, but I would greatly appreciate it, if they could all be answered.
And please do feel free to be as elaborate as possible.

Thanks for the help
Daniel

----------------
EDIT:
- Corrected mm/s to mm/min