Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Lurking & learning for 3d printing

Posted by 3Dhead 
Lurking & learning for 3d printing
April 07, 2011 01:08AM
Hi all!

I've been lurking for a couple of weeks and am totally stoked about starting my own Mendel project. I'm taking the opportunity to introduce myself to the RepRap community here in preparation for some newbie questions soon to come. Right now from the little I know I think I'd like to build a Prusa flavor Mendel (open to suggestion). I have to admit that I'm not a programmer nor very electrically inclined. I love mechanical devices and 3D printers though! I fill the daytime hours of my life with automation and specifically concepting idea's for automation. I love tinkering and have dreamed for years of having my very own 3D printer!

I'm still kind of waffling on wheather I should just buy a kit or try and do a build myself. I think I'm pretty good at what I do and that is generating mechanical concepts for automation in a digital 3D form but what I'm poor at is sticking with a project for the long haul and beating it to death. With that said I'd really be ecstatic if I could complete a build like this, thus the challenge for me!

At work I have access to a machine shop, materials, and a commercial 3D printer of which I also operate. I'm positive all of the hardware and printed parts will be no problem to acquire/make, it's the electrical and or programming (understanding) I'm worried about. I want a platform of which I could experiment with my own idea's and just plain have a good time making stuff.