Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Total newb - few questions

Posted by gpgp 
Total newb - few questions
December 09, 2017 05:24PM
Hello everyone.

I am a complete newb to 3d printing. There is a ton of information to filter through. I know I want a 3d printer, with a bed large enough to print drones with decent lifting capacity. ( i understand that is a large variable)
I need it to be as cross platform and open source as possible. I want to be able to print another machine within reason. Sourcing the metal parts and printing the plastic. I want to be able to print from any os including mobile oses.
I have children 11 and 13 so I would like a complete kit in the sense that all of the parts are aquired before building but difficulty assembling should not be an issue for us. . I have some arduino and raspberry pi experience and am not opposed to it being driven by these boards or similar generic boards but the easier the better. I have the ability to make wooden frames also.

I am leaning towards a prusa mendel.

I would like input and advice, thank you. There are so many interchangeable and rapidly changing parts it is a bit overwhelming trying to get a good footing.

Thank you

gpgp

Edited for grammar

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/09/2017 05:28PM by gpgp.
Re: Total newb - few questions
December 11, 2017 07:03AM
Not many printers have support for printing from a mobile phone, at least not off the bat. Most that do are the higher end ones that don't come as a kit and probably aren't super open source. And the ability of a printer to 'print another machine within reason' depends less on the printer you are using and more on the printer you are printing. Most 3d printed parts for a printer are pretty small, so these shouldn't be the limiting factor for the size of your machine. I think people need more information in order to give you good advice.