Mesh Bed Leveling...
December 29, 2017 02:58PM
Looking for a little guidance in mesh bed leveling since this is my first attempt at this. I'm using a Precision Piezo so I think I need a pause before each probing process but I'm uncertain..

Using some code I found I assume this should be ran each time before a print so this should go in my starting code, does this look correct?

M561                      ; Cancel any existing bed compensation
M557 X15:290 Y15:290 S40  ; Define the probing grid
G29                       ; Probe the bed and save height map to SD

Thanks.

ampapa,
Re: Mesh Bed Leveling...
December 30, 2017 02:32AM
Which firmware does your printer use?

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
December 30, 2017 07:05AM
DuetWifi v1.19

I found the wiki but wasn't sure about M208 and G92 commands and was looking for some practical experience.

Running a G30 and the probe is working fine but I'm a little confused on how its updating its position to -.1... I was assuming it would be 0. Does it get that information from the config.g file?

My config.g has the following..
M558 (P1/P5) I1 R0.4 F300 X0 Y0 Z0
G31 X0 Y0 Z-0.1 P600

Thanks,
December 30, 2017 07:39AM
Yes, the Z parameter in the G30 command tells it what the Z height is when the probe triggers. It's slightly below zero because the printer isn't infinitely rigid, so the head has to be commanded slightly below Z=0 to create enough force for the piezo to detect.

The M557 command can also go in your config.g file, assuming that you always want to probe the whole bed.

G92 isn't relevant to bed probing, except during the procedure for measuring the actual trigger height described at [duet3d.com].