Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A few general questions for a beginner

Posted by johnfullerroot 
A few general questions for a beginner
April 12, 2011 07:48AM
Hi,

I am new to the RepRap project (and 3D printers in general) and want to build myself a Mendel. The problem is that I am not an engineer and find that the RepRap website presumes a lot of understanding of 3D printers from the visitor. I think there needs to be an overview page that explains in more layman terms the overview, the concept, the terminology, about 3D printers, maybe a little history and their components and where to buy them and where to obtain the manual specific to assembling those components. The only reason I am able to articulate some of the questions below is because I have had to spend several hours in research (mostly from videos and external sites and searches) even to get enough understanding to know what to ask.

Firstly when visiting the site the only knowledge I had was a realisation that now I can get my hands on a 3D printer for a more realistic amount of money and that having a 3D printer could be really useful to me. I had no idea what an extruder is, what PLA is, the difference between a Darwin, Mendel or a Huxley etc. Please don't take this as a criticism, I commend everyone for this great work, I just don't want to see people scared off because it all seems too much for them or too complicated or they fail to grasp essential concepts. Maybe once I am knowledgeable I can assist with making the site and information more newbie friendly.

So my questions are:

1) I have decided to build a Mendel because it seems to be the most appropriate version from what I can gather. Is the Mendel the default/best option for anyone visiting the site unless they have any specific requirements?