Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New guy curious about Printing Costs

Posted by strydus 
New guy curious about Printing Costs
April 13, 2011 08:44AM
Good morning everyone,

New to the world of RapRep. Just trying to get a feel for material costs and production time.

Been desktop CNC’ing for 3 years with a Roland MDX-15 and have 10+ years experience with programs like 3DS Max and Rhino.

So say as a hobbyist I just purchased a Mendel with a .35mm nozzle.

And I have purchased a 5 pounds of 3mm ABS filament for $58 USD.

What is the volume of this plastic?
Without even thinking about production time based on nozzle size if I knew the price per CC of filament I could just punch in a scale size of a design in rhino and find out it’s volume and say it’s going to cost me X to make.

Next, how much can an extruder extrude based on nozzle size over time?

I’m sure intricate Eiffel tower model that has the same volume as a solid cube might take longer to build, but I’m just trying to get a basic rule of thumb.

Was hoping to find a mini spreadsheet that would explain these sort of numbers to me.

Thanks for any info,

Michael
Re: New guy curious about Printing Costs
April 13, 2011 09:32AM
Michael

Sorry I cannot help with your materials calculations, but I would like to point out that it is very rare that we print anything with a solid inside.

I have not printed much, but excluding the shels of my objects (usually about 3 layers) the infill is around 20% or 30% (or 80% to 70% hollow).

So you would need to decide how solid you wish your objects to be.

Regards
April 13, 2011 09:33AM

What is the volume of this plastic?

ABS's density is 1.04 grams per cubic centimeter.
Read more: [wiki.answers.com]

5 lb ABS x 1 kg / 2.2 lb x 1000 g / 1 kg / 1.04 g / cc = 2185.315 cc.

Next, how much can an extruder extrude based on nozzle size over time?

eye rolling smiley Depends on how fast you can extrude it!