Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Designing a Reprap for printing digital sculptures

Posted by ilion 
Designing a Reprap for printing digital sculptures
April 18, 2011 09:19AM
So I'm new to the reprap project, and I was looking to build a system specifically for printing digital sculptures that I have modeled in a 3D package such as Maya or 3DS Max.

This would obvioulsy need to have as little "artifacting" (imperfections) as possible in the end product and print those details very well, as well as have a smooth finish. (by smooth finish, I just mean consistant, without Striation. It doesn't need to feel like it's glass or anything, although, smoother the better)

So here lies the questions.
Is this possible (at a relatively similar cost to currently marketed Prusa machines)?
Which plastic would be best for this?
What size filament would be best?
Any ideas for a 3d printer specifically for this purpose?
Any systems that are currently being built that could handle tasks like this?

I appreciate the feedback and input!
Re: Designing a Reprap for printing digital sculptures
April 18, 2011 09:33AM
ilion

Sounds like the finish you are looking for is currently not achievable with the reprap printers.

Perhaps you can look at this although I don't know if he has released any build plans anywhere yet.
April 18, 2011 07:34PM
That's great! Thanks for the link.
April 18, 2011 11:54PM
The look is certainly achievable with reprap although it would require some dipping in say conformal coating. The technique that guy uses is also adaptable to reprap.

I think he uses a projector to cure the liquid, right? With a reprap, you would simply need to dip some kind of curing wand into the bottom of the fluidfilled container and print as you would with filament, only you would not see the results until you drain the remaining liquid out b
VDX
April 19, 2011 03:25AM