Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRep Book

Posted by geoffd 
RepRep Book
April 27, 2011 05:30AM
Hi All,

I am thinking of writing a book on the basics of building and using a RepRap machine. It would cover the mechanics, electronics, updating firmware, calibration etc.

There would also be some chapters on designing using tools like OpenScad and one or two 3d design tools, and chapters on the host software and using Skeinforge.

IE A beginners guide to RepRap.

I have found a publisher who is willing to commission the book (around 150 pages) if there is a large enough demand.

That brings me to the question: Is there enough demand?

As we don't have a polls could you just add a post with positive, or negative comments. e.g Yes you would buy it, or no you wouldn't.

Thanks
Geoff
Re: RepRep Book
April 27, 2011 07:16AM
I would buy it, but I'm a noob to all this.

I'm eagerly waiting on the "Printing in Plastic" book.

ISTAR Scope Club
April 27, 2011 07:44AM
So how would that be different from the wiki?

reprapworld.com
PLA, ABS, PETG multiple colors (3 and 1.75 mm) €16,49 / kg
Megatronics 3.0 €79.99 / Minitronics €37,19
April 27, 2011 07:49AM
I would for sure! Would be great to have a hard copy! smiling smiley
April 27, 2011 07:50AM
brupje
So how would that be different from the wiki?
It would COST MONEY, the wiki is FREE. spinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
April 27, 2011 08:02AM
YES!
April 27, 2011 08:49AM
Hi Brupje

It would bring sections of the wiki, plus info from other places on the web into one place. It would be available as an eBook and as a hardcopy. You would have to pay for either/both, but the publisher is aware that RepRap is an open source project so price is an issue.

Cheers
Geoff
April 27, 2011 08:51AM
Hi BoriSpider

It is aimed at Noob's smiling smiley
April 27, 2011 08:53AM