Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Piezo z-probe on Duet Ethernet bahaving stangely

Posted by papilio 
Piezo z-probe on Duet Ethernet bahaving stangely
May 29, 2018 12:57PM
I'm just beginning to set up the piezo probe which I received some time ago from Simon, so I'm sure that there will be a few questions on the way over the next couple of weeks.

Due to a number of design considerations I'm currently planning to utilize an underbed piezo setup. Sensitivity at this point looks great, quite a bit better in fact than what I was seeing with the hotend piezo. The first iteration with 27mm piezos was likely too sensitive so I've redesigned the setup around 20mm piezos.

After a number of preliminary moves the nozzle begins a probe near the edge at about 7 o'clock but lifts again a few mm before it touches the bed. (My homed height places the nozzle just in contact with the bed and I'm using a -0.1mm Z offset as per Simon's instructions.)

Here's a video, as can be seen things appear to be working except for the probes nearest the camera. Also evident is that the failed probes are beginning from a greater z-height than are the successful probes.
I'm also curious, what are all of those slow transverse moves over on the left?

Not wishing to get ahead of myself ... but as of now seeing at least some good probes, I'm impressed! This will be my first time having a z-probe.

I'll be sure to do a complete write-up of the details once things are up and running, along with another describing the piezo end stops which are also waiting in the wings.

Thanks!

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/29/2018 01:32PM by papilio.
Re: Piezo z-probe on Duet Ethernet bahaving stangely
May 29, 2018 01:11PM
I'm not familiar with the Duet and its RRF firmware so I'll wait for someone else to chime in on any firmware related issues.