Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Total newbie, seeking introductory information

Posted by The42 
Total newbie, seeking introductory information
January 09, 2008 10:13PM
Hi, everyone...

I'm a high school student who found the RR website when it showed up on Digg. I'm fascinated by the project and by rapid prototyping, but I have no experience in electronics/hardware. I perused the website and found that I still had a few questions, namely:

- What progress has been made on the RepRap, and how far is it from complete self-replication (minus imported parts, of course)?

- Does it only use plastic right now? The main page said that it "will make plastic, ceramic, or metal parts", but based on these forums and the blogs I get the impression that plastic is the only material supported by the current iteration of the hardware.

- What are the different major ways of constructing a RepRap/RepStrap? What is a support extruder and which designs include one?

- Keeping in mind that I'm completely new to this, what would be a good way for me to join in on the project? I have tried to install the host software (for WinXP), but I'm having some trouble getting it set up -- I suspect that I have not installed the external Java packages properly.

Thanks for your input!
Re: Total newbie, seeking introductory information
January 10, 2008 12:44AM
The extruder can only currently do plastic and in a very limited fashion. Support extruder is "in the works." No ETA as I have heard of. Need people to build and test.

You can buy the parts for a RepRap form Bits From Bytes or make a RepStrap Seedling with 1" iron pipes. Hardware is different but electronics could be the same. Also the option for Arduino electronics exist but is not officially supported yet.