Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Confused re Z code

Posted by skaha 
Confused re Z code
July 03, 2018 08:28PM
Hi I am new to printing, I have run into a couple of STL files that don't have any z codes in them, of course when I try to print them the z does not raise up and the nozzle drags. What am I missing? Other files I have tried work perfectly.
Terry
Re: Confused re Z code
July 03, 2018 08:42PM
Do not believe I have ever seen a STL file without any Z-Codes unless it was single layer like a sheet of paper thickness.

Please post the STL file

Computer Programmer / Electronics Technician
July 04, 2018 02:09AM
Maybe you fall in a hole in the ground and come out in flatland where 2D .STL files for plotters and laser engravers exist?
July 04, 2018 05:09PM
Don't know to capture and send code, here is portion. using the snip tool. Is it possible this is not an STL file .
Attachments:
open | download - g code.JPG (82.9 KB)
July 04, 2018 05:13PM
Then where did you get the STL file post a link.

July 04, 2018 05:30PM
[cdn.thingiverse.com]

Is this the correct address ?
Terry
July 04, 2018 05:32PM
[cdn.thingiverse.com].
Hope this is what you asked for. I searched under the title "flag pole holder" .
Terry
July 04, 2018 06:02PM
OK downloaded your Flag Pole Holder STL. It is a 3D Model with Z- Axis dimensions.

When you search your G-Code file you will Note: " G1 Z " with a number after this is your Z-Axis movement.
This Z-Axis movement is very seldom, At 0.28 Layer height the first is at 79 & 82 the next is at 2268 & 2270
"Why is there a difference between 2268 and 2270 or 0.075mm this is my Z-Hop Value"

What slicer are you using to slice the Flag_pole_holder_fixed.stl.

I used Cura 15.04.6 from the below web page list

[ultimaker.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/04/2018 06:18PM by Roberts_Clif.

July 04, 2018 06:12PM