Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D printer repair problem

Posted by igor449 
3D printer repair problem
August 12, 2018 01:39PM
Hello readers!
I'm a 17 years old student and I'm doing a school project of how to repair 3D printers and I'm trying repairing a Clone of the Prusa i3, the Single Frame.
After have done some adjustments in the printer and done some structure repairs but now I have a problem with the printing proces.
The problem is that when I try to print, the filament doesn't go down because is "not enoght melted" and the extruder can't pulls it out from the nozzle. So it changed all the hotend and the hobbed but the problem stills there.
I thing that the cause of this problem is the filament, because I'm using ABS of 3mm and is not a good cuality one but I don't know which filament use instead.
How can I fix this problem?

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 08/12/2018 03:34PM by igor449.
Re: 3D printer repair problem
August 12, 2018 04:17PM
I think you use pla tempertures on abs filament. Either use the proper temperature or use pla. Also check the pid calibration of the hotend.

--
Kind regards
Imqqmi

NFAN CoreXY printer:
[reprap.org]
August 12, 2018 04:49PM
Thaks Imqqmi fot the reply,
I heat it from 200ºC (393ºF) to 260ºC (500ºF), and as I see it's ok for ABS so I did a litttle experiment:
I tried to use a 12v 7Ah battery to power the hotend and the problem still there, but the Marlin marked 130ºC (266ºF) when it was more than 200ºC, because it was juts melting, so I will have to revise that, but that's a minor problem.
I've borrowed a bq 1,75mm PLA filament, it melted well but the printer pipe is 3mm so it is too thin to go out from the nozzle.
So as I can see is the filament, but what can I do? Should I change the pipe or buy another filament?
August 12, 2018 09:49PM