Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First layer adhesion

Posted by chicodarave 
First layer adhesion
October 09, 2018 02:31AM
Hello.

I'm very new to 3D printing, I'm still assembling my RepRap, but already printed some parts.
I'm using a piece of glass over the heatbed.
I've seen much people complaining about poor adhesion of first layer and I had an idea.
If I scratch the glass with a sandpaper, this would help in the first layer?
I believe it will using the "logic of the things", but, is it a good idea?
Please tell me what you think.
Re: First layer adhesion
October 09, 2018 02:47AM

If I scratch the glass with a sandpaper, this would help in the first layer?
not one bit will that help...
your option are kapton tape you get a mirror like finish but not 100% prints can/may curl and lift, glue stick another had a lot of success with pla but it gets messy over time..
the best option and one I stick with spinning smiley sticking its tongue out is thermal plastic build plate from andornot build plate there other brands with pei sheets like gecko... now the problem with these thermal plastic sheets they work extremely well , where you can end up fighting and wrecking the Z axis, not so much of problem for you if stick with glass and plastic sheet but the other option with makes removing prints child play flexible bed thou am not sure how good that is with ABS or the higher temp filament.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 10/09/2018 02:52AM by jinx.
October 09, 2018 02:50AM
no

you create lots of ^^^^ on the glass, giving even less surface area to stick to

clean your glass with isopropyl alcohol and make sure your bed is level and first layer is correct height.

finger print on the glass will make it lift every time.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/09/2018 02:51AM by Dust.
October 09, 2018 02:55AM