Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rumba plus : Custom Hotbed Build - Power Supply Question

Posted by bricelee 
Rumba plus : Custom Hotbed Build - Power Supply Question
January 03, 2019 06:11PM
Hi,
I'm looking for some help with powering the hotbed and Rumba Plus motherboard. My build is a custom build because I wanted a bigger print area for more capabilities so I have four(4) beds connected in a square shape, well I figured I could connect it parallel to the board. I have done the math for this and I hope it's right. I wanted to know if the ATX power supply I chose is the right decision and what would be the best route to take. How would you do it? I'm new to all this but the thought, "Go big or go home", crossed my mind so here I am lol.
For some reason it wont let me attach pictures from my phone, so if I find a way to do so I'll upload pictures.
The ATX power supply is a EVGA power supply-80 plus 500w
+5V - 20A
+3.3V - 24A
+12V - 40A
-12V - 0.3A
+5VSB - 3A

The hot beds are also in parallel to each other.
1 hotbed =
12V
10A
120W
Re: Rumba plus : Custom Hotbed Build - Power Supply Question
January 03, 2019 06:53PM
January 03, 2019 07:31PM

January 04, 2019 03:01AM
Your PSU is inadequate. The bed heaters will max out the 40A rating of the PSU, leaving nothing for the extruder heater, stepper motors and fans. Also it's hard to manage 40A of current.

A much better option for heating large print beds is to use a silicone heater, either AC mains voltage if you take the appropriate safety precautions, or 24V if you want to use low voltage. Choose the silicone heater power rating to provide about 0.4W power per square cm of bed, and choose a size slightly smaller than the bed plate to leave a margin around the edge for fixings.

If you want to persist with using PCB bed heaters, then if they are dual voltage you can wire them for 24V and connect them all in parallel. Choose a 24V PSU rated 600W or more.