Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'm new to the scene and have questions

Posted by JamesW 
I'm new to the scene and have questions
January 25, 2019 04:48PM
Hello all,

I am new to the whole 3D printer world. Until yesterday I didn't even know you could build one. I have had a interest in buying one, but being a DIY enthusiast this has gained my interest. I guess my main question is what are my first steps into this process. I know I would prefer a printer that could do larger prints with a wide variety of materials, and if it's possible multi color printing would be pretty cool too! I don't know if this is on the right form place, but I'm just really excited to get started!
Re: I'm new to the scene and have questions
January 26, 2019 11:37AM
You can poke around here. also the main reprap page where various designs are shown.

Most designs are on Thingiverse, I can think of one design that is similar to HyperCube on thingiverse that is not on reprap.
Simply search thingiverse for '3d printer'

Depending on your budget you could start simply but give up a few features in order to get started.
On the really cheap end, something like a TronxyX1 kit is cheaper than buying parts.
I can order parts for a SmartRap Mini 2 for about $150 with parts coming from china so about 1month wait, or 200-225 from USA suppliers.
Thats no heat bed and single extruder. I am the current maintainer of the SRM2 design.

OR to fulfill most or all of your features start with a HyperCube type design, something with a full square frame.

Good luck and keep us posted on your choices and work.
January 26, 2019 04:05PM
Budget $1,000. If you spend less on the printer, you will pay for it in time and frustration.

Having said that, the cheapest way would be to buy a Chinese 3D printer from eBay or AliExpress. Or, better yet, look for a secondhand printer on eBay.