Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3d printer fried stuff

Posted by timur 
3d printer fried stuff
July 09, 2019 04:49AM
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie to 3d printing, I tried to make a 3d printer but unfortunately I fried 2 mega and 2 Ramps 1.4 and I wonder if I can save the megas since an integrated burnt out. And I don't know how to check if a Ramps 1.4 burnt or not, and how to revolver that?
Re: 3d printer fried stuff
July 09, 2019 04:58AM
"integrated burn out" isn't that what "Boy racers" do?

Depends what died, and if you can solder... and if your time is worth nothing...

If its the main chip... not unless you can do surface mount soldering.

if its just the voltage regulator, (small black device, 3 pins and a tab out the other side, near the USB connector) only average soldering skills are required

if its the usb/serial converter... more surface mount soldering required...

As for diagnosing.. there is a book worth of information required to test everything on a mega,..

The basics: (general overview... not definitive by any means)
if you only plug the usb in, is there 5v on the 5v pins? (no there is probably a bad short... could be lots of things)
if you only plug in a 12v into the dc jack do you still get 5v? No dead voltage regulator
if you only plug in usb and the computer can't recognize the device and 5v pin has 5v. Its a dead usb/serial converter (presuming it used to work and thus is not a operating system driver problem)
if the usb is detected correctly and you upload the arduino flash demo and it wont upload its a dead mega2560 chip
if you have dead digital IO pins or Analog Pins, its a dead mega2560 chip

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 07/09/2019 05:20AM by Dust.
VDX
July 09, 2019 05:18AM
... most usual, when connecting endstops the wrong way, the +5V-regulator wrecks - this can be replaced with some soldering skills ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]