Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is it still worth it to build?

Posted by boredom.is.me 
Is it still worth it to build?
February 08, 2020 04:22PM
There is no better place to ask this than on the RepRap forums. For the most part, it all started here. As a builder, I don't mind spending a little extra if it means designing and building my own. Considering the progression (and copycats) over the years, is it still worth it to build a printer?

Ya, there's a lot of cheap crap out there, but some of what's available is pretty decent and, more importantly, ready to go.
Re: Is it still worth it to build?
February 08, 2020 04:51PM
In the time I spent thinking about this, someone else presented the same question.

[reprap.org]

EDIT:
That turned out to be a bumped 2 year old thread.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/08/2020 04:55PM by boredom.is.me.
February 19, 2020 02:40AM
I think that it's still worth it, especially if you value the learning experience. I learned a lot by building my two printers.
February 19, 2020 02:48AM
It comes down to the question. Do you just want to print or do you want to tinker and perhaps print one day in the future.
February 20, 2020 05:04AM