Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

12v PS in series for 24v and what to do about 12v bed

Posted by munkeyboy 
12v PS in series for 24v and what to do about 12v bed
April 03, 2020 03:41PM
Hi, first post. Just now getting in to making my own 3d printer. I'm not new to working on electronic (mpcnc, custom guitar amps, pedal, etc), but I am far from an expert.

So short story is that I ordered most of my parts for a prusa mk2.5 build and now realized the two mini-rambos I have are bad (less than 5v on the 5v rail, maybe other things). Ultimachine has been kind enough to provide some guidance even though the boards are most likely knockoffs (got them in a parts bundle, no returns). Still waiting to hear back, but last response was that they suspected bad component somewhere.

All the printer parts I have are 12v, but now that I have to order a new board I thought I'd go with SKR v1.4 or einsy rambo for quieter printing. However, I do not want to spend more on a new 24v heatbed, fans and power supply at this moment. What i have are two identical 12v 20a power supplies. I understand I can wire in series to get 24v 20a to power the board/drivers/hotend heater, but that leaves the 12v bed and fans.

Question is, after wiring the power supplies in series, can I still use one the the 12v power supplies to power the 12v bed? I have drawn up what I think could be a solution, but it is just a guess. Would anyone with more knowledge that I, care to review the attachment?
Attachments:
open | download - 12vto24vseries.png (513.3 KB)
Re: 12v PS in series for 24v and what to do about 12v bed
April 03, 2020 04:32PM
Be very careful hooking power supplies up in series. This requires that the power supplies be isolated supplies. I just checked mine which is a computer supply and the negative side of the 12volt rail is shorted to the ground connector on my plug. So if I hooked up 2 of theses in serial the 12 volts would be shorted to ground.
April 03, 2020 04:50PM