X carriage made of PLA?
May 14, 2020 07:02PM
How hot is the air coming from E3d V6 heat sink? If it does not blow directly at the x carriage can the carriage be made of PLA?

PLA is stiff, so i would prefer to use it I am just worried about it's temperature resistance. If you printed pieces of your printer in PLA I would love to hear about your experience.
Re: X carriage made of PLA?
May 14, 2020 07:24PM
I've been using the same x carriage made of PLA for two years without issue. If you are going to use a heated chamber, either figure out how to anneal it or use a different material like carbon fiber PETG.

EDIT: Also, always keep a spare set of printed parts for your printer on-hand in case of any unexpected failures.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/14/2020 07:28PM by obelisk79.
May 14, 2020 09:26PM
And don't transport your printer and leave it in a hot car - the PLA will melt.

PETG would be better, but ABS would be much better. Best would be metal- aluminum is easy to work.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
May 15, 2020 12:16AM
Why do you say ABS is MUCH better than PETG? Tensile strength is similar between the two materials. Carbon fiber PETG regains most of the tensile strength difference compared to PLA. ABS has better impact resistance, but 3d printers shouldn't experience a lot of impacts. Is the recommendation based on melting temps regarding operation inside a heated enclosure?
May 15, 2020 05:39AM
I think stiffness is the most important property of the material used to make x carriage. Temperature resistance might be next IF x carriage is exposed to higher temperatures (that's why I asked about temperature coming from V6 heat sink) .
I am not going to use enclosure and I am not going to keep my printer in a hot car, so considering what everyone said so far in this thread I conclude that PLA should be OK.

PLA also is easier to print without deformation and as a result gives results with accurate enough dimensions.