Newb Looking for Pinter Advice Before Purchasing
May 16, 2020 05:09AM
Hi Guy's ‘n’ Gal's,

I'm a complete Newbie to the 3d printing scene and looking for some advice on which direction to go with 3d printing and my first printer.

My dilemma is, chose between a Creality Ender 3, Ender 5 Plus or a Tronxy X5SA Pro?

I've been looking into and researching buying or building, when I stumbled on the BLV Cube, and thought WOW.

Now before we go any further. I have mechanical, electrical and electronic skills. I have much machinery, pillar drills, band saw, chop saw and a lathe, and were not talking small hobbyist's machines either "No offence to anyone who has". I also have reasonable skills with Arduino's and NodeMCU's ‘ESP8266 wifi devices’, to the point where I was ‘regarding the BLV Cube notion’, going to build my own Duet Wifi from an Arduino Due, NodeMCU and build my own drivers etc.

I got in touch with the friendly BLV crowd on their FaceBook page ‘thank you for your advice Guy's’, and the general advice was, start with a smaller, cheaper printer such as the Creality Ender 3 and learn 3d printing with that, then start to build the parts for the BLV on the Ender 3. But then I started looking at the Ender 5 Plus and the Tronxy X5SA Pro.

So do I go with the Ender 3, and later start to build the BLV, or do I go with the Ender 5 Plus or Tronxy X5SA Pro and then just stick with One of these Two?

I would love to hear your thoughts and advice, especially from those that have experienced these units.

Regards.

Dizzwold.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/16/2020 05:15AM by Dizzwold.
Re: Newb Looking for Pinter Advice Before Purchasing
May 16, 2020 03:29PM
You're going to get mixed advice from the people here.

However, I'd offer this:

I agree with getting the Ender 3 to learn the ropes. There's a massive community of Ender 3 owners out there, including printable mods etc.