Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

mixing nozzle vs dual nozzles

Posted by GITRDUN 
mixing nozzle vs dual nozzles
May 31, 2020 09:39AM
Why does the single nozzle mixing extruder seem to be less popular than using dual twin nozzles? I have no experience with either though i am getting ready to install a mixer. But it seems to me that a single nozzle dual extruder would be far easier and cheaper to use. Am i missing something?
Re: mixing nozzle vs dual nozzles
June 02, 2020 03:36PM
I think there are two significant problems with mixing nozzles:
  • It takes some time for the filament to be purged before printing can start with the next filament
  • There is little or no possibility to change the temperature, nozzle size and possibly other factors between filaments.
While your requirements may vary, I can find few things that would work within these limitations other than multiple colour designs..

Mike
VDX
June 02, 2020 04:31PM
... one of my older ideas for "mixing" nozzles is based on a ring of several wire-feeders (not melting extruders!), pushing 0.3mm thick plastic wires to the same spot -- and a laser is heating/melting this spot, so the "combined" plastics will melt, intermix (different feedrates for different mixing params) and fuse to the underlying surface or already printed part structure smoking smiley

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
VDX
June 03, 2020 02:27AM
... here another interesting "mixing nozzles" approach smoking smiley

[www.youtube.com]

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
June 07, 2020 09:15AM