Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kinematic systems and linear guides

Posted by pandaym 
Kinematic systems and linear guides
July 08, 2020 04:50PM
Hi everyone,

After having dealt with different types of 3D printers, I am slowly preparing to design my own printer. I am a mechanical engineer, and therefore probably overthinking it a lot, but currently I am putting a lot of thought into the XYZ kinematics, and would like to hear your thoughts on the common concepts and potential alternatives.

I would like to share some of my views on kinematics, and where I am in the scoping process.

I personally think that the benefits of having isolated axes are really important, and that is exactly the reason why the Prusa i3 design is so popular. Having three axes that mechanically work independently l, means that aligning and adjustment is extremely forgiving. It is therefore also pretty straightforward to build a bed slinger without much of a performance bottleneck anywhere. That being said, slinging the bed starts to become increasingly challenging as the build volume grows.

The alternatives to the bed slinger cartesian seems to currently dominated by corexy. There are plenty advantages of a corexy setup, that most probably already know about. My main problem with it, is exactly the point from above, that the axes are not independent. Having axes that depend on each other means that their geometric relationships are super important, and any variances will be amplified greatly. So even though it is technically possible to balance out a corexy setup to be great, I personally would rather look into alternatives.

My current idea is therefore to go with a crossed gantry cartesian (probably has a name?). Not many printers seem to boast this motion type, and. Have only really seen it used in the Ultimaker series. This seems like the ideal choice based on my experiences for making a cartesian with a larger build volume that the i3 design “allows”.