Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extracting Motor speed and steps from Ramps 1.4

Posted by CDorn 
Extracting Motor speed and steps from Ramps 1.4
August 30, 2021 03:21AM
Hello fellow Reprap-Community,

I want to use the Ramps 1.4 Board to controll an extruder and other sensors. Though for the X,Y,Z-axis I want to use a independant system. For that I need the information of Marlin, how many steps, and at which frequency the individual motors should run (which can then easily be translated into position and speed).

As I understood it, Marlin interprets the given G-Code to calculate its own acceleration. Marlin then sends "on/off" signals to the individual pins of the stepper-motors at a certain frequency. Is it possible to extract that information in marlin?
If yes, how do I send it to an other microcontroller? Via one of the AUX-pins? (sorry I'm quite new to this).

Thanks in advance!!
VDX
Re: Extracting Motor speed and steps from Ramps 1.4
August 30, 2021 03:38AM
... eventually simply extract the pins for STEP and DIR of each axis and feed them (together with GND) to the corresponding external stepper drivers?

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
August 30, 2021 03:44AM
Thanks for the quick answer.
But what do you mean with "simply extract the pins"? Thats exactly what I was asking for... how do I do that in the code?
VDX
August 30, 2021 04:28AM
... why code? -- I'm inserting a "dummy"-socket into the stepper driver sockets, which feeds the 3 pins STEP/DIR/GND with a cable to the external driver ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

August 30, 2021 04:43AM