Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob seeking information to get started.

Posted by Sluark 
Noob seeking information to get started.
July 16, 2011 05:22PM
Hello folks, First I'd like to Introduce myself.

I'm a student of precision machining, and I will most likely be building a CNC router over the next year. I am also very interested in the reprap and I am a open source enthusiast. I am currently a CNC operator for a living, and will be able to make my own hardware for my project.

Frankly, I'm a busy guy and all the information I seek to get started seems to be decentralized, with some lingo and conversation that I don't quite grasp yet. (board names, controller info, 100 places to buy things I may or may not want etc.)

The rough plan at this point: To build a modified and upscaled aluminum and steel mendel, or a derivative of such.

My programming experience is limited. I am familiar with G-code, dos batch scripting, some basic shell scripting, and that is about it. I run windows xp, windows 7, and last but not least ubuntu.

I can solder, and I have a good multimeter, but I'm no electrical engineer.

My understanding of computer hardware is basic, I have built my own computers since around 1998, but I have never gotten into assembly language or fully understood chipsets.

QUESTIONS: (please feel free to point me toward more information, I don't expect you to author a whitepaper in my thread on my behalf.)

What are the length limitations, and why?

Why belt drives? I am thinking about using acme threaded screws and backlash nuts to gain accuracy that thus far I have not seen from any builds. Can someone show me snippets of code that dictate travel vs. rotation of the stepper motors? I'd need to re-code portions to achieve this. (id est: if 1/4 rotation equals 0.100" of travel, I need to be able to recode it to match my thread pitch, which may be more or less travel per R.)

How much torque can the common stepper motors used exert without issue?