Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Self-replicating machine

Posted by michael_kaeppler 
Self-replicating machine
August 03, 2011 02:27AM
Hi all,
I'm new to RepRap and after some reading through the wiki I have to say this is a pretty fascinating project!
Hopefully sometime I will manage building a Mendel or a Prusa Mendel, let's see.
I like the idea of a self-replicating machine in particular, however, I'm wondering how it is (theoretically) supposed to work.
Every machine has only a limited precision and therefore every generation of self-replicated machines must become worse in my opinion.
How can this limitation be avoided?

Regards,
Michael
VDX
Re: Self-replicating machine
August 03, 2011 03:36AM
... the next generation of a machine with limited precision doesn't mean the 'child' will have an even worse accuracy!

You define the accuracy by selection of the critical components (rods, bearings, motors) and you can even enhabce the accuracy of a breeding with e.g. a stiffer frame, better gliding system, better belts ... and so on.

Actually the reprap needs some 'vitamins' that can't be printed, so by selecting better (and mostly more expensive) vitamines you can make your machine much better than the 'parent' that printed the parts ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
August 03, 2011 04:10AM
The accuracy of the printed parts does not affect the accuracy of the child machine, apart from the pulleys. People have commented that with poor pulleys you can actually print a better one as the belt averages out the errors over several teeth.

In general machine tools can be more precise than the tools that make them, otherwise how did we get to the precise engineering tools we have today?

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
August 03, 2011 06:13AM