Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D Colour Mendel Printer Idea

Posted by michaelqpd 
3D Colour Mendel Printer Idea
August 08, 2011 09:01AM
I'm not very good at building things but I normally good at thinking of ways to do things. I have an idea for colour in the Reprap project printer. I have uploaded a crude picture of an idea I had that I don't think would take much to implement even on a board with one extruder control. If you placed a number of extruders in a circle eg on a gear and had each one a different colour (like an ink jet printer) each one having a coloured filament going into each. You could then rotate the extruders round to the active slot. As the required colour came into the front position where the single extruder would be, then a connection is made so the extruder would feed its filament to be extruded. Now each extruder could be kept at a certain temp to help keep the speed up. The size of this setup would not be to big and only a wider axis support may be needed but there is room I believe for this already. It wouldn't be to much hassle anyway in order to have colour.

It would be good to have this working on someones printer, for me I am not able to probably build this unless I got step by step instructions. I got all the tools but no idea haha.

Anyone got any further ideas to possible make multi colour for the reprap mendel in one single printer possible.

Michael
Attachments:
open | download - 6extruder.jpg (150.7 KB)
Re: 3D Colour Mendel Printer Idea
August 08, 2011 10:44AM
a rack and pinion setup may save space on the x axis. have the rack going parrallel with the y axis., this way it wouldn't change the profile in that direction and the carriage could move the same amount. But overall, i believe your idea is a pretty good one. well done smiling smiley
August 08, 2011 11:54AM
I do think that some kind of tool changer will be the way to multiple [color, material, nozzle diameter].