Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why? do we use thermistors the size of pixi-dust –> an alternative

Posted by richrap 
Why? do we use thermistors the size of pixi-dust –> an alternative
August 23, 2011 07:00AM
I know the little ones have a low thermal mass, but they are such a pain to use, crimp, and place. I have been using the below Axial version for a few months now and can only recommend everyone to give it a try the next time you make a hot-end. So much easier to use and much more rugged.

One in my high-powered hot-end here -

You can buy them from Farnell - [uk.farnell.com]

I’m still using the pixi-dust sized ones for the heated bed, but only until I have used them all up.

Rich.

[richrap.blogspot.com]
Re: Why? do we use thermistors the size of pixi-dust –> an alternative
March 29, 2012 04:00PM
Hi Rich,

How are these thermistors holding up for you?

The leads on my 'pixi-dust' thermistor broke today, so I am probably going to try these axial thermistors next. Would be interested if you have any feedback after using them for a couple of months.
March 29, 2012 06:06PM
They work really well, I have 5 fitted to hot-ends, and one is on a heated bed, I have never had a single problem with them.

I still use the Makerbot 100K thermistor as it's easier to fit to a J-head nozzle, it's slightly bigger and has thicker leads than many of the other ones.

[richrap.blogspot.com]
March 30, 2012 02:11AM
Agreed about the pixie dust sized thermistors. Having snapped a lead off one I bought, I switched to an axial :

RS axial thermistor

from RS in the UK, min order a pack of 5.

Thermistor is referenced here:
mini extruder info inc thermistor tables

inc. some look up tables (although my printer is now getting results using the default in sprinter without changing the table). Same type on the edge of my HBP.

Mike

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 04/02/2012 03:04PM by 3D2B.
March 30, 2012 01:57PM
Hi Rich. Hi Mike. Thanks for the feedback.