and

The Vancouver Robotics Club
[vancouverroboticsclub.org]

Good luck.
Sebastien
Re: Create Vancouver forum
March 23, 2008 09:02PM
Hello fellow web-footed hobbyists

I've decided to build a reprap.. I'm fairly new to electronics but doing alright so far. My PCBs showed up and, after getting part way through them I see I've used the wrong bill of materials to order components but I think I have most of the important and hard to find bits. does anyone else in the area have one of these guys up and going?

Cheers,

-Tyson
March 26, 2008 03:14AM
Hi Squalus,

Good to see another reprapper in Vancouver. Unfortunately, I'm not building a reprap, I'm just working on the software for now. If anyone is building a reprap within an hour of my place, I'd like to help out or at least see the thing.

I live in Kitsilano, where do you live?

Cheers,
Enrique
March 27, 2008 04:40PM
Hey Enrique!

Unfortunately I'm not too far yet with the reprap's construction. I have the PCBs here and about half of the electronics and am building away. Unfortunately I won't be ordering the rest of the electronics until next payday but it's soon enough smiling smiley

I live in the west end near the foot of the burrard bridge so pretty close. There isn't much to see yet but I'll let you know as soon as I have enough of the electronics done to do something interesting. I'd be curious to see what you're up to with the software as well. It goes without saying any help will be welcome and, when it's up and going, you're totally welcome to use it.

Cheers!
March 28, 2008 02:23AM
Thanks for offering your future reprap; I'd like to someday print a boatsmiling smiley

In the meantime I'd be happy to try a few test shapes.

I've written scripts for reprap. The first is a javascript to to get order of magnitude estimates of reprap economics at:
[members.axion.net]