Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building a Prusa Mendel in downtown Vancouver - Looking for printed parts and other makers

Posted by Angelina 
Hello makers,

I am embarking on a Prusa Mendel build. I am hoping to find someone local who is able to print me a set of parts (I'll pay for materials and buy you a cupcake!), but lacking that I am hoping at the very least to find a few others near me who are also working on their own Prusa builds.

I realize there were already a few other threads on this forum speaking of both of these things - however, they were started years ago, and recent replies to them had not seen timely response. I hope that with a fresh post I might garner fresh attention, especially of other new makers like myself.

I am a friendly software engineer living in downtown Vancouver. I've built several robots before, but never anything like a 3D printer. I'm confident that I could source the parts form elsewhere and build this on my own, but what fun would there be in that? If you are able to help by printing parts or would like to make a new friend to work on your project with, then you should reply to this thread.

Cheers,

- Angelina
Re: Building a Prusa Mendel in downtown Vancouver - Looking for printed parts and other makers
September 30, 2011 02:07PM
Hello Angelina,

I hope you find someone closer to you, but if you don't we have a Fraser Valley Group meeting in Langley every second Wednesday of the month (next one on Oct 12th) [forums.reprap.org]

We currently have 6+ people (4 with working machines) and at least two complete sets of parts available from different members. Plus I have a partial set of reject parts which are still usable but not pretty, I would let go for the cost of the plastic. I also have a Repstrap that I have been thinking about selling, it has printed three Prusa's plus much more (25 lbs of PLA).