Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advice on first printer

Posted by darryn 
Advice on first printer
June 14, 2013 02:34AM
Hi all.

I am new to 3D printing and need some advice on a first printer.
I have been looking at the Prusa I2 and I3, but don't know if there is anything else that I should be looking at.
My main problem in the build will be sourcing the printed parts, as I don't have access to be able to print a set of my own.

Any advice would be appreciated.

TIA

Darryn

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/14/2013 02:35AM by darryn.
Re: Advice on first printer
June 14, 2013 09:17AM
Hi Darryn

I am putting together an I3 with a laser cut plywood frame and i can say its worth it. It has a small nr of printed parts and there is a modification so that you only need 4 motors(building mine with 5). I was fortunate to get my parts from a friend in AUS so i cant help you there.

Something else to consider i like to mention is that i ordered almost everything from some international store. I am trying to create a hot end locally but I am finding it difficult getting someone that cant make the 0.2mm+ holes in the nozzles but i will get there.

Once i am done i will make the I3 printed parts available to anyone at a fee to cover my costs....I everything goes well this should be done by the end of 2013 maybe even sooner.

Ryno
August 30, 2013 04:43AM
Hi Ryno

I also wish to build a printer and live in Cape Town. Do you have the printed parts available yet?
September 23, 2013 05:23PM
I could possibly make you a set of parts if you settled on a design and you know what you need.
September 23, 2013 06:03PM
Hi Darryn!

I would recommend you go with the Prusa i3 design, it is alot faster and easier to build. I can supply you with a laser cut i3 frame and the printed parts as well as many other bits and pieces you may need. Feel free to drop me a PM and we can chat

DIYElectronics
January 01, 2014 04:27AM