Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Starting Mendel Build Gold Coast

Posted by Dillinger 
Starting Mendel Build Gold Coast
July 29, 2010 10:11PM
Hey all, just letting it be known we have another Aussie Mendel in construction just south on the Gold coast.

I'm a 3D designer by trade, but lack finesse in the electronics department. Soon to rectify that!

I have had a hell of a time trying to source parts for this machine so im going to be doing my best to populate this
part of the world with a few more mendels if possible!

Im sure ill be on here asking advice as soon as I hit my first road bump!

In the meantime any advice will be much appreciated!
Re: Starting Mendel Build Gold Coast
July 30, 2010 08:56AM
Check out HSBNE (Brisbane Hackerspace), as they have a Mendel very close to working (config issues mainly).

Also, on the HSBNE mailing list there are people trying to organise a Gold Coast Hackerspace. Might be worth your while getting involved if you're not 100% on electronics, as they could be able to help.
July 30, 2010 10:47AM
Will check em out! Cheers!
August 04, 2010 11:59PM
I'm building a mendel in australia too, see the side column of my blog for a usable list of australian suppliers. I think the only parts I got internationally were the stepper controllers from pololu and a few misc parts from futurlec who have an australian website but the parts are posted from malaysia

-----------------------------------------------
Wooden Mendel
Teacup Firmware
August 18, 2010 11:04PM
Cool build Triffid!

I Got almost everything internationally.
RP Parts from Nophead in UK ( Pricey! but really good quality prints! Recommended)
Electronics from Techzone in US (Issue with the USB - TTL module, missing a solder point on the usb connection to the pcb, i fixed it up and its working. I let Kym from TZ know and she has offered to send me a replacement without question. Which is really good support)
Power Supply from China (was $12 including really quick postage)