Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Arduino / Bresenham linear interpolation with ramping

Posted by nition 
Arduino / Bresenham linear interpolation with ramping
March 31, 2008 12:40PM
Hello all,

I'll shortly introduce myself since this is my first post on this forum, I'm a graduating graphic design student at the art academy in Amsterdam. As a graduation project I'm building a cnc printer that uses rubber stamps. This is not a RepRap, but since the basic mechanics and logic are the same, and this seems to be a nice and lively user forum, I'd like to ask you a question.

For the x y movement I'm controlling two stepper motors (2,5Nm and 1,0Nm). Since the y-axis (double rail) is carrying the x axis, and this is quite a heavy one, the steppers need to accelerate in order to move the heavy load and build up the speed.

The drivers I am using for the stepper motors are step/direction drivers, therefore, I decrease the delay inbetween the pulses to accelerate the stepper motors.

Now this is where my question pops up: I'd like to move the x and y axis sycnhronized, which I will do using the linear Bresenham algorithm. But I also need to be able to ramp up / down the speed of the steppers, without them affecting each other. And sine the arduino cannot drive two steppers simultaneously (correct me if I'm wrong!) but only sequentially, the delays of the stepper motors will affect each other.

Now is there a solution in which the x and y axis move synchronized but also have their own delays?

Thanks alot for reading the post
Re: Arduino / Bresenham linear interpolation with ramping
March 31, 2008 01:26PM
I used to work for a graphics card company and we did some interesting things with line drawing algorithms. Steppers have an added complication of needing a specific speed, rather than "as fast as possible" with graphics.