Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap Host not starting.

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Reprap Host not starting.
July 01, 2008 02:57AM
I have installed all the dependencies, however, when I run reprap-host.sh, I get the following message:

Could not connect at /dev/ttyS0.

Check to make sure that is the right path.
Check that you have your serial connector plugged in.The program will continue but your geometry preference has been set to 'nullcartesian' for this session.

And then it dies.

I don't have a /dev/ttyS0 as I am using a laptop and I can't seem to find the way to change this to /dev/ttyUSB0. I assume that this is what is killing it.

Attached is the full error log.

-Mark
Attachments:
open | download - error.log (4.2 KB)
Re: Reprap Host not starting.
July 01, 2008 04:50AM
I'm fairly new to linux, but I'm assuming that's what you are using.
You should be able to open the host software without any errors until you try to go to the tools section and run the extruder test or the motor tests. If so, then go to file-> prefs and change it there to the USB. If you have the problem as soon as you open the program and can't change it in there, then you'll need someone to give you a prefs file with the info already changed in it and you can replace you're one with that.
If neither of those work then it's probably something else and it's just giving you the wrong error maybe?

Anyway the first 2 suggestions should help.

~Dylan
Anonymous User
July 01, 2008 05:33AM
Yeah I am using linux. You have pretty much summed up the problem right there. It won't start because its trying to use /dev/ttyS0 and because I can't start it I can't get it to use /dev/ttyS0.

I REALLY wanna do my stepper test. I just finished building the X and Y of my McWire bot and I want to see if it has any accuracy at all.

-Mark
July 01, 2008 07:06AM