Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Still have issue with One window on Mac O SX 10.4

Posted by sheep 
Still have issue with One window on Mac O SX 10.4
February 10, 2009 12:13AM
Some weeks ago I noted in a thread relating to a problem I have when I attempt to run the host java software on my mac mini (Power PC 10.4) Tiger.

The main updated mac install notes state "To Be written" The only docs I could find indicated they were obsolete. I used them and everything installed.

Art of illusion runs fine. So my java engine seems to be installed correctly.

reprap.jar only opens the one window.

I attempted to make a gui folder and move the ping files there. The reprap.jar file does not seem to be a package, so I can not open it and see if these files are soft linked.

While I am an atmel programmer (assembly only please!!!) In this case I really want to be an end user. I do not like adding tools into my mac. Preferably I draw the line at Xcode. I do not like a cluttered desktop and I do not like a cluttered ~/usr/bin directory.

It looks like the source code must be re-compiled. Searching about a bit I find the lack of any decent documentation frustrating.

It may be something simple. I installed the *.jar extentions in the /Library and not the ~/Library as I am a single user on this machine and there was no existing java folder in ~library.

What I really find frustrating with open source build yourself apps, it the dependence on the creators file paths and scripts hard coded. This is a lot of the reason I do not want to have to re-compile this code, I have enough on my plate with seven other projects (some atmel assembly) to have to fuss with this.

All I want is a simple step by step guide how to install the host software to run on my mac mini (Tiger.)

-julie
Re: Still have issue with One window on Mac O SX 10.4
February 20, 2009 04:03PM
Bump.

I really do not like having to post a reply to my own message.