Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Firmware WONT compile!!

Posted by chuck 
Firmware WONT compile!!
April 09, 2009 09:08PM
Hi all,

Im new to the game and getting hung up on loading up the firmware to my arduino. I have versions 13, 14, and 15 of the arduino environment. No matter what I do, or which computer I load it on,,,I cannot get ANY of the arduino snap or gcode firmwares to compile so i can upload it to the arduino.

The arduino works fine when i upload the sample stepper codes and such, but ive tried this on 2 different computers running Windows XP SP 3 32BIT and Vista 64BIT. I cannot for the life of me figure out what the problem is. My latest compiling error tells me this string::

error: 'char word[128]' redeclared as different kind of symbol::

#include "reprap_new_firmware.h"

#define COMMAND_SIZE 128
char word[COMMAND_SIZE]; <-------------THIS IS HIGHLIGHTED?????
byte serial_count;
int no_data = 0;
long idle_time;
boolean comment = false;
boolean bytes_received = false;

Ive also tried having someone send me their known working firmware and its still not compiling for me. Is there a special installation instruction that im missing? This is been going on now for 7 days straight and im getting super frustrated, but im sure its just a small parameter somewhere that is incorrect. Someone please help me troubleshoot this....Thanks

Chuck
Re: Firmware WONT compile!!
April 10, 2009 12:34AM
Did you try the Arduino IDE version 0012 that I mentioned in your last thread? Since they added a "word" function or something (I'm no great programmer) in version 0013, it looks like all the versions after 0012 will not work with the code I sent you.

Wade

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/10/2009 01:07AM by Wade Bortz.
April 10, 2009 02:33AM
Just replace all the occurrences of "word" in the RepRap code with something else, like "Word" and you will be fine.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
April 11, 2009 11:06AM
Thanks for the replies...