Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

AOI slow to open files

Posted by nophead 
AOI slow to open files
June 28, 2007 01:27PM
AOI takes nearly 2 minutes to open clamp.aoi on my system which is an Athlon XP2800.
During this time the application does not respond and there is no progress bar. This seems ridiculous for such a simple model. Is this typical or is there something peculiar to my installation?

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
Re: AOI slow to open files
June 28, 2007 01:54PM
Sounds like the clamp is a big nasty boolean object. They tend to take a long time to load.
June 28, 2007 02:40PM
It's only a rectangular block with about a dozen objects subtracted from it, cylinders and blocks. I wouldn't have thought that was "big and nasty" but I have no experience of 3D cad. It must be hard to burn up 2 minutes of CPU time these days but then it is written in Java eye rolling smiley

June 28, 2007 05:09PM
"It's only a rectangular block with about a dozen objects subtracted from it, cylinders and blocks. "

For AoI, that's big and nasty.
July 13, 2007 04:14AM
Hi Folks,

There is probably nothing I can do about the time it takes AOI to open the file, or regenerate the boolean representation. However, I can try to get a progress bar in there. I had been thinking that would be a good idea recently as well.

Edit: I'm not convinced that being written in Java is actually the problem in this case. I think the reason it takes the time it does is the way Booleans are represented and (in this case) how they are stored. The system chosen provides for a lot of flexibility, but that is bought with the time taken to initialise a Boolean, whether that is in creating one in memory, or regenerating one from its disk representation (which amounts to much the same thing).

Edit2: Ok, I've looked at this a bit further: