Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Keene NH

Posted by Twistlok 
Keene NH
March 30, 2009 10:22AM
Hello
Anybody from the Tri-State area in here?

I am currently building a McWire variant RepRap machine, with a different twist on materials. I want to use as many salvaged parts as possible. For instance, the aluminum channels that surround old sliding glass doors from a solar project i have going will supply all my rails for the X Y & Z axis. The base flange that supports the Z axis that i got at home depot looked like a warped bicycle rim, so we turned one out on the lathe. Also, i substituted an aluminum heatsink plate from an old projection tv for the plexiglass one on the Z axis.
I'm just starting out, so thats all for now.
I look forward to chatting in the future.

Ron
Re: Keene NH
March 18, 2010 12:17PM
I'm in Burlington, VT. Just getting started and gathering parts needed. I'm leaning toward the extruded aluminum design as I can't print any vertexes, plus I'll probably make the printable area larger, so I can print intake and exhaust manifold flanges to prototype designs.

My eventual goal is to learn enough to build a CNC plasma cutting table.
March 04, 2011 10:26PM
Hi guys,

I'm in North Adams MA. I'm a software consultant with an interest in machining, electronics, metalworking etc. I have decided to build a machine with my 10 year old son Zack, hopefully if I can drag him away from the xBox. I started building the boards and am looking into machining the printable parts with a router, miter saw and drill press. I tend to go overboard when I get involved in a project so I hope to have some contributions to the community as soon as I get my first machine built and working.
Best

Gary Lyons
March 04, 2011 10:49PM
I started building the boards and am looking into machining the printable parts with a router, miter saw and drill press.

http://reprap.org/wiki/What_Tooling_Do_You_Have? grinning smiley

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.