Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Any Geelong RepRaps out there?

Posted by TechnoBill 
Any Geelong RepRaps out there?
February 19, 2012 12:02AM
Hi All,
I am new to 3D printing and learning the hard way. Bought a pre-assembled "ready to go" mendel had for a week and am yet to extrude hehe. Wondering if there are any locals out there.

Bill D

'Serenity' Observatory

[www.billd.net]

"Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything, money is handy."

Groucho Marx
Re: Any Geelong RepRaps out there?
February 20, 2012 07:22AM
hi mate
im not from geelong but im also new and interested in 3d printer
and looking for one to buy
so how much you bought yours for and where from??
and have you started printing anything yet,
was it easy simple.

thanks
February 20, 2012 04:58PM
Hi,
I have not printed anything yet. Learning curve is high.
Mine was a spontaneous purchase. I had some annual leave coming up and wanted to get a preassembled kit so I could have something to learn on while I was on holidays. A preassembled mendel turned up on ebay locally a few days before I was ready to go on leave so I purchased it. I then found out after the fact that the original source of the kit was from a mob that rightly have a very bad name at the moment. (They say they are improving but that remains to be seen, I certainly got no response from my hails).

Anyway I managed to correct all of the assembly errors I could find mechanically and got all of the axis actually working properly. But being a newbie I did not discover one major flaw in the supplied extruder / hot end. They supplied it with 1.75 mm filament but the hot end has a bore of just over 3mm. When I went to test extrude it started to work but eventually all jammed up pretty quickly and burst apart. I have since ordered a new extruder and hot end from another supplier. So I wont get to print during this years annual leave hehe.