Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

almost decided to go solidoodle, why pay more for diy?

Posted by gazob 
almost decided to go solidoodle, why pay more for diy?
June 24, 2012 04:48AM
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure....

I have been trying to work out what 3d printer to get. I am not an engineer or an electronics whiz, I am at best handycapable, no problems with ikea furniture, but alot of started projects stall because I lose interest or motivation.

I have pretty much decided to get "a" 3d printer but now am a bit blinded by choice. I dont have a real use for one, it just seems cool to be able to spit out small plastic thingy's.

Self sourcing an open design kit seems doomed to a long build time waiting for stuff to come via post, and then having to adjust everything because its not quite as the BOM intended.

There are not truly cheap "everything is in one box" kits, that build a stable reliable printer that I can see.

If I were to diy it I'd go the MendelMax as it seems to offer the solidest platform, that being said the "every bit in a box" style kits are $1300 or thereabouts. I have no doubt this would be a great printer.

For $550 I can buy the solidoodle 2 and it arrives ready to plug in and print.

Pros of the solidoodle
Price
prebuilt

Pros of the mendelmax
Bigger print area
upgradeable / enhanceable

Here comes the question I suppose, but feel free to correct any misconceptions above
How much of a hindrance will a 150x150x150 build area cause?
Have I missed a printer that maybe falls between these 2

I would like to have something by late October, as it will be my birthday present, I am eagerly awaiting reqorts from solidoodle buyers to backup my thoughts on this printer, but am pretty sure they havent really even started shipping yet.