Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Forum for Melbourne user group

Posted by Oscar Fox 
Forum for Melbourne user group
November 02, 2009 08:43PM
Hi, I would like you to setup a new user group for Melbourne Australia if you would.

Melbourne User Group.

Thanks
Re: Forum for Melbourne user group
December 02, 2009 06:30AM
I think this is a good as any place to Leave you're details and interests.
If you're happy to have other members contact you leave a current email address as well or maybe set-up a Google account just for this purpose.

It would be great to build up a list of members skills or talents that would be of benefit to the rest of us. IE Programmer, electronics supplier, machinist, etc.

So everyone please get involved and lets see how many machines we can get up and running.

Oscar
December 03, 2009 06:56AM
Hi guys,
I am currently gathering the parts and working on the basic design for my RepStrap machine.

I am an Electronics Technician with basic metalworking skills.

cheers,
Pip
December 04, 2009 03:37AM
I should add me own stuff I guess.

I have worked in a variety of mechanical positions, automotive and machinery based. I worked on computers since the eighties and ran a small servicing business for too many years. I have interests in Mechanics/robotics/electronics and I is pretty well hooked on anything that makes noise, light, smoke and moves. I am truely Geek.

Oscar.
January 23, 2010 06:55PM
Greetings fellow Melbourne builders.

I am in the process of making a RepStrap machine. I have a working 3 axis machine controlled by EMC2. In theory, all I need to do is build a extruder head and off I go eye rolling smiley.

I have ordered the thermal barrier (hard to find a small bit of PTFE) and Nichrome wire (can't source insulated nicrhome in Australia) from MakerBot and they should be waiting for me when I get back to work next week.
The pinch wheel bracket I will machine out of Aluminium (unless someone local can print me one?)