Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

At a dead end - help / encouragement needed

Posted by noonan 
At a dead end - help / encouragement needed
March 28, 2011 07:20AM
Hey guys,

It seems after 2 nights of utter confusion I've hit a bit of a morale/intelligence dead end with my Mendel build.

I think to summarise, the issue is that I just don't understand enough about the Arduino > board > hardware chain to even BEGIN troubleshooting things not working.

When I bought this thing I assumed (incorrectly it seems) that it would involve me building something, installing something then spending time calibrating it.
(i should note that i'm cluey, but i'm in no way a software/mechanical engineer.. i'm an industrial designer)

* see below for less angry description of my current setup / results *

Is anyone out there confident enough with Arduino / Windows / Mendels to want to offer to come over one night / day and see if you can problem solve a little of this? I'm happy to pay an hourly rate, or a slab of beer, or both.

I'm in Yarraville, 3013. You can email me at steve (at) noonanstudios.com if you want me to be more specific as to what stage i'm at.

Cheers all,

Steve

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/28/2011 09:23AM by noonan.
Re: At a dead end - help / encouragement needed
March 28, 2011 09:24AM
I bought the kit complete from Techzone, so as far as I know its the "Gen3 electronics / Techzone remix"

Pretty much all the bits I have are listed here > [techzonecom.com]

(I see that they now have their 'monolithic' set up there now, so if what I have is particularly awkward
or outdated, I'll just buy that and hope it rules out any shorting wires etc that could be the problem in my multi-board setup.)

I have a feeling I cooked something on the extruder board tonight anyway, so i'd be happy to go in another
direction electronics wise if that's what anyone suggests... I'm more comfortable with construction than with soldering etc.