Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Power MOSFETs

Posted by mfsamuel 
Power MOSFETs
March 16, 2010 04:37PM
I am using the alternative Arduino Mega/Pololu Carriers Electronics

Anyone have any advice for driving the extruder heater without the extruder controller?

Some Questions:
-Is there something specific I should be looking for in a power MOSFET (I assume sufficient voltage and current are the main points)?

-Do I need anything other than the MOSFET?

-Wiring advice. I assume i'm driving this off the PWM output of the mega, and the 12V/Ground from the power supply, how do I tie the grounds together safely. The Mega will be running off USB power so the grounds are isolated right now.

-What am i missing? i'm a programmer not an EE, just had the basics in school.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/16/2010 04:49PM by mfsamuel.
Re: Power MOSFETs
March 16, 2010 05:30PM
Are the steppers wired up and working? If the grounds really are isolated, you won't be able to send any commands to the stepper controllers. You're right that MOSFET voltage and current are the things to look out for, its worth getting ones that can handle a much higher current than you need, because they'll get much less hot and may not even need heatsinking. You should pull the MOSFET gate low with a resistor as well, or the MOSFET partially conducts and gets hot.
March 16, 2010 06:03PM
The other thing with MOSFETs is to try to pull them high as fast as possible; typically, you them driven at lower than threshold voltage, or higher than saturation voltage. The shorter amount of time spent dwelling between these two voltages, the less heat will be generated by current flowing thru the gate during the transations.

Also, N Channel MOSFETs typically have about 1/3 resistance than comparable P Channel at saturation, so should generate less heat.
March 16, 2010 08:38PM
Adrian has published a complete circuit here: [objects.reprap.org], just follow that.