Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CNC Mill Conversion Controller

Posted by zackm 
CNC Mill Conversion Controller
November 21, 2013 02:21PM
I'm a senior engineering student working on my design project of converting a custom built CNC machine, from a previous design group, into a 3D Printer. This means I already have stepper motors and controls in place for the basic 3 axes of movement, and it appears it won't be too complicated to add another stepper motor into this existing system for the print head.

I'm looking for the best microcontroller to use to just control the extruder head and printing bed temperatures. So it needs to be able to read values from a couple thermresitors and control the temperature of the heating blocks on them accordingly. Most of the 3D printing specific controllers I've found include stepper controls I won't need. Generic controllers I haven't been able to figure out if they would even work for my purposes. I'm pretty new to these kind of electronics, so any help I can get would be much appreciated. Does anyone have any suggestions or good places to start for how to go about doing this?

Thanks.
Re: CNC Mill Conversion Controller
November 22, 2013 05:47AM
Buy an arduino mega, upload a reprap firmware, and in that firmware pins.h file, check or alter locations for step/dir/en pins, and from that arduino header take these to each motor.

For a thermistor its a votage divider with a resistor fixed for pullup to 5v, and thermistor on the gnd side, and the voltage divider output has a 10uF cap on it before it goes into the adc pin. This you can do in air or on a stripboard pcb (or whats the name of that).

For a heater its a low side mosfet, a header pin goes into gate, and mosfet can then be wired directly and mounted on a hefty heatsink, with only wires soldered to its legs.

Thats all the basics requirements, if you want a lcd and sd, those are extras and you can figure them out and wire them separately.