Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best plug and play board

Posted by Thorbl 
Best plug and play board
March 25, 2015 12:49PM
Hello, im new to 3d printing and started designing my own, coreXY type printer. i know alot about the mechanics but im really not comfortable with electronic boards so im looking for something easy to program (something like the marlin firmware) that can accomodate x, y, dual Z, 2 extruder for stepper motors. 2 thermistors for hot ends and one for heated bed. 3 endstops, 2 fans, usb and sd card. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Re: Best plug and play board
March 25, 2015 01:12PM
Just about any controller will satisfy your minimum specifications, but the most popular one nowadays is the Arduino Mega2560 + RAMPS 1.4 combination.
March 25, 2015 01:36PM
yes but that would require soldering and all the stepper drivers, im really looking for something that already has everything ready, just need to plug my motors and program away
March 25, 2015 02:18PM
I don't think any 8-bit boards are going to meet ALL your requirements. Dual fans, extruders, and Z-axis (presuming you don't just want to run them parallel or series) is going to be the hard part. You can get there with RAMPS, and fully assembled boards and drivers ("Pololus", stepticks, or DRV8825) are readily available that don't require any soldering, but you'll need to get some additional aux boards for the SD card reader and controlling additional fans.

Duet+Deux4 or a Smoothieboard I think would meet all your requirements, but you'd need to use a firmware compatible with those boards which I don't believe Marlin doesn't have a direct port. RepRap firmware or Smoothie respectively are the firmware for those 32-bit platforms.
March 27, 2015 11:05AM
I recommend a Duet with either X4 or shield expansion (you could start with just the Duet and add the expansion later). The think3dprint3d version has both screw terminals and push connectors so no soldering necessary.