Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cheapest motor drivers possible

Posted by cpwebste 
Cheapest motor drivers possible
March 02, 2009 09:20PM
So I am currently close to completing the mechanics of my repstrap machine. I am a college student and thus my goal is to make the entire project as cheap as possible. I am close to $70 with the metal materials for the structure. I salvaged about 30 bipolar stepper motors from old photocopiers and have 3 that fit the bill. I will be running them as unipolar motors by leaving the ground wires unconnected. I also already have an arduino from previous projects. I have been looking into the price of the electronics and that seems to be my big hurdle. So basically, the purpose of this topic is so others can help me brainstorm on how to make an extremely inexpensive motor driver for others building repraps on a budget.

I currently have a picaxe 08M hooked up to a 1 Amp full H-bridge that is capable of powering the motors up to 36V. The full hbridge controls both of the coils and can switch the current direction to allow for full of half stepping by changing the picaxe firmware. From what I can tell, it looks like an average of 2A is the max specified current for the steppers I am going to use. So knowing this, would this method be a simple, cheap was to produce a motor driver? Anyone have any other ideas to accomplish this?
Re: Cheapest motor drivers possible
March 02, 2009 11:14PM
I am using the Step Genie currently and loving it smiling smiley. It uses Hexfets so for about $8 a board you can control steppers up to 35A at 25V... Sounds good to me hot smiley
March 02, 2009 11:15PM
[www.stepgenie.com]
heres the link if your interested.
March 03, 2009 06:43AM