Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

half-stepping vs. full-stepping

Posted by Jmbjr2008 
half-stepping vs. full-stepping
March 25, 2009 07:37PM
I've been searching the forums for information on half vs. full stepping and haven't had any luck. I know it's been discussed before though.

I'm new to electronics, but from what I've read, half-stepping means the motor will take twice as many steps to complete a revolution, thus giving precision on positioning, but doesn't this also make it twice as slow?

I'm about ready to start soldering the stepper motor boards, but step one is to set it to full or half stepping... and quite frankly, I have no clue which is better, and more importantly, why (when it comes to RepRapping).

Thanks

-John
Re: half-stepping vs. full-stepping
March 25, 2009 08:58PM
Yes, it will be twice as slow (assuming you take the same step speed, which is likely). To see the difference, imagine there are two coils, one pushing and pulling in the x direction, one in the y. For full stepping, one would pull Y, then pull X, then push Y, then Push x, before repeating the cycle. The internals of the motor would make one revolution (which would rotate the spline a smaller distance, 1/50th of a rev for a 1.8 degree motor).

For half stepping, the motor would do x+ , x+Y+, Y+, x-Y+, x-, x-Y-, Y-, x+Y-, for a cycle. For the half steps, two coils are energized. This creates more torque on the halfs, at the expense of more current.

You can also do full-stepping by energizing two coils as well:
X+Y+, X+Y-, X-Y-, X-Y+

Hope that helps.
VDX
March 26, 2009 04:59AM
Hi John,

... try serching "halfstepping / [All Dates]" for two results or "microstepping / [All Dates]" for 3 sides full ...

For the speed - with halfstepping you can apply doubled frequency too, so it's not so bad.

With fullstepping i'm driving with 1-1.5kHz max., halfstep -> 2-6kHz and with microstepping i'm driving with 10kHz - only because my driver can't clock faster eye rolling smiley