Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Servo Driven X-Y Stage

Posted by labmat 
Servo Driven X-Y Stage
May 29, 2009 11:38AM
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the RepRap / Makerbot community.

I recently came in possession of a machine with a high precision X-Y Stage with 300mm of travel in both axes. The stage has linear ball bearing slides, 24V DC servos, ball bearing leadscrews, and rotary encoders for positional feedback. This machine is a perfect platform for creating a RepRap/MakerBot. I would like to know if anyone has created a RepRap that uses servo control with positional feedback for the X-Y & Z?

One of the mechanical engineers I work with suggested using a Geckodrive [www.geckodrive.com] which allows you to control a servo with encoder using stepper control signals which I understand would interface perfectly with a reprap motherboard.

What do you guys think?

Just an FYI I am a Mechanical Designer and have no programming experience and basic electronics skills.

Thanks,
Matthew LaBerge
Re: Servo Driven X-Y Stage
May 30, 2009 01:17AM
Yes your best bet is the Geckodrive, my stages had servo motors and encoders but since the servo motors had bushs I elected to replace them with the standard stepper motors since it was also a NEMA 23 mount.

Though it might be cheaper and less of a learning curve to swap out with steppers, looks like your stage has standard motor mounts.

My blog.

[exmrclean.blogspot.com]
May 30, 2009 02:01AM
Nice score. I have been searching ebay every day for a high precision x/y stage that's cheap enough to justify me buying it.
Anonymous User
May 30, 2009 05:13AM
very nice =)
May 30, 2009 11:50AM
Labmat,

That, my friend, is a real find! Are there any more available?!?
FYI, reprap core member Nophead based his machine, [hydraraptor.blogspot.com] on a somewhat similar XY stage. I heartily suggest you read his blog, especially (in your case) the early posts, where he documents his Cartesian mechanism.

Larry Pfeffer,