Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRap kit buying

Posted by Peppna 
RepRap kit buying
August 26, 2013 03:51PM
I'm new to the forum so I apologize if this post is posted on the wrong folder.

I nearly bought this "RepRap complete kit" from Amazon.com:

Reprap complete kit Ramps1.4,LCD2004,heatbed MK2a,hotend2.0,Nema17 stepper motor

I'd like to know if this has been a good choice or a too fast buying (maybe I should have wrote here before ;P ).
Particularly I'm not sure about Nema 17 stepper because I read somewhere that "low voltage" stepper are better than "high voltage" ones.

The kit came with no datasheets and also on internet I only found few specification on this site (for steppers):

Skidproof Nema17 Stepper motor,4-Lead,1.8 degree

I'm also new to electronics so...don't blame me too much if I made a very bad choice tongue sticking out smiley

Thank you and I'm sorry if my english could seems strange.
Re: RepRap kit buying
August 27, 2013 11:32AM
Your motors should have some markings on them, but sometimes its hard to identify coz there are lots of versions of exact same looking motor, sometimes even bipolar and unipolar look identical and even have nearly similar codes / identification marks.