Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ordering components in the UK for PCBs

Posted by MotorAssist 
Ordering components in the UK for PCBs
June 18, 2009 11:16AM
I really need some help here. Is there any one UK supplier which can suply all, or nearly all, the components for the following PCBs?

optoendstop v2.1
GM3 noise suppressor v1.0
temperature sensor v2.0
stepper motor driver v2.3

I can get just 4 components at Maplin (fairly readily accessible by bus), and if anyone has a parts list for these PCBs for RS, that would also be useful, as I can get to one of their depots, too.

Otherwise, I'd like to limit my P&P charges to just one supplier if possible.

There are too few details given about what the ESSENTIAL criteria are for each component on the part lister, and I am new to electronics and just don't know. I've spent all afternoon going round the houses!

Please, can anyone help?

Hazel.
Re: Ordering components in the UK for PCBs
June 19, 2009 02:11AM
I've used Farnell
[uk.farnell.com]
who seem to supply much more than maplin, in fact, they supply so much it's hard to find what you want!

If you've got a parts list with numbers, they can probably help you - I even got the 'official' RRRF 100k thermistors from there, they seem to have/import a lot of parts from the US.

You will need to buy minimum quantities of some parts though - paticularly SMD components - often 10, 20 or 50. However, I bought 50 resistors for £0.0045 each, so it's still under a pound and you've got lots of spares.

Minimum order is £20, but if you're getting all the parts for your boards, you'll probably go higher than that.

Good luck

p.s. They're fine with non-commercial (hobby) orders, and signing up is relatively painless.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/19/2009 02:13AM by David Reynolds.

---
Reprapping blog and other rants: [renoirsrants.blogspot.com]
My Reprap: [sites.google.com]
June 19, 2009 06:43AM
Hi Dave,